Skip to main content

ESGR in the News


WASHINGTON ­– Secretary of Defense Lloyd J. Austin III named The Village of Pewaukee Police Department one of the 15 recipients of the 2021 Secretary of Defense Employer Support Freedom Award, in recognition of the organization’s exemplary support for its National Guard and Reserve employees.   

“I am proud to salute the outstanding employers who have earned the distinction of being named Freedom Award recipients as we mark the 25th year of this highly coveted recognition,” said Defense Secretary Lloyd J. Austin III.  “The men and women of the National Guard and Reserve make significant contributions to our communities and our national security through their civilian and military careers.  We owe a debt of gratitude to these exemplary employers, who by valuing and supporting their employees’ military service, enhance the strength, readiness, and diversity of our National Guard and Reserve forces.”

The Village of Pewaukee Police Department along with 14 other recipients were selected from 3,382 nominations received from Guardsmen and Reservists highlighting how their civilian employers went far beyond what the federal law requires to support them. Celebrating its 25th year, the Freedom Award began in 1996 under the auspices of Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve to recognize exceptional employer support, with 310 honorees to date.

The Village of Pewaukee Police Department has shown extraordinary support to its Reserve component employees. The Department embraces priority hiring for Guard and Reserve members and its supervisors continuously outpace requirements by providing service members and families with direct personal care, support, care packages, communication and recognition.  

“The Village of Pewaukee Police Department has continually provided exemplary support for myself and other veteran officers, both past and present,” said Army National Guard Capt. Brett Markut. Administration and all members of the Police Department showed sincere care and assistance for me and my family during a recent yearlong deployment.”

"The Village of Pewaukee Police Department’s recognition is humbling and encourages us even more to continue our support of our service members and ESGR,” said The Village of Pewaukee Police Department Chief, Timothy Heier.  If you would look through the photographs and historical documents of our department, you would find that it was founded, built up, and sustained by veterans from all branches.” 

The award will be presented to The Village of Pewaukee Police Department by Scott Legwold, Chair of the Wisconsin ESGR State Committee.

For more information about the Freedom Award and this year’s Freedom Award recipients, visit To learn more about ESGR, visit

About ESGR

ESGR is a Department of Defense program that develops and promotes supportive work environments for Service members in the Reserve Components through outreach, recognition, and educational opportunities that increase awareness of applicable laws. It also provides assistance in resolving conflicts between Service members and their employers.

Posted in: Wisconsin
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |