Skip to main content

North Dakota

ESGR, a Department of Defense office, is comprised of dedicated and trained volunteers and staff. We will develop and promote employer support for Guard and Reserve service by advocating relevant initiatives, recognizing outstanding support, increasing awareness of applicable laws, and resolving conflict between employers and service members.

ESGR informs and educates service members and their civilian employers regarding their rights and responsibilities governed by the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act of 1994 (USERRA). ESGR does not have statutory authority to enforce, but serves as a neutral, free resource to employers and service members. ESGR’s trained ombudsmen provide mediation of issues relating to compliance with USERRA.

Contact Information

Janette Fetch Volunteer Support Technician 430 Fraine Barracks Road, Building #30 PO BOX 5511
Bismarck ND 58506-5511


Online Learning


See All
September 30, 2021Freedom Award Nomination Season Now Open

WASHINGTON – Do you have a story to tell about how exceptional your employer’s support is to Guard and Reserve service members?  If your employer goes above and beyond in their support for Guardsmen or Reservists, nominate them for the 2022 Secretary of Defense Employer Support Freedom Award!

Learn More.
August 30, 2021American Crystal Sugar Company employees honored by Department of Defense for patriotic support

DRAYTON, N.D. – American Crystal Sugar Company Factory Manager Al Zola, Maintenance Superintendent Paul Eslinger, and Production Superintendent Andy McKay received Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve Patriot Awards Aug. 18 for the extraordinary support they provide employee Spc. Daniel Monson, North Dakota Army National Guard.

Learn More.
August 30, 2021ESGR Patriot Award - UHaul

FARGO, N.D. – Travis Hudson, a U-Haul supervisor, received the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve Patriot Award August 19 for the extraordinary support he provides employee Pfc. Ram Dahal, North Dakota Army National Guard.

Learn More.